• French      *

 greatersudburylogo

 

Greater Sudbury is the largest city in Northern Ontario by population, and the 24th largest metropolitan area in Canada. In land area, it is the largest city in Ontario. It is also the only city in Ontario which has two official names — its name in French is Grand-Sudbury.


Approximately 30 percent of the city's population is Franco-Ontarian. As a result, Sudbury is a very important centre in Franco-Ontarian cultural history. The francophone community of Sudbury has played a central role in developing and maintaining many of the cultural institutions. In fact, the Franco-Ontarian flag calls Sudbury home. It was first flown in 1975 at Laurentian University, after being created by a group of teachers at the university. As of 2006, it is now permanently flown at Tom Davies Square.

Greater Sudbury now celebrates all its multinational and multicultural diversity with the Bridge of Nations.  The Bridge of Nations, also known as the Paris Bridge, carries 72 colourful sovereign nations and cultural group flags.

 

 

Quick Facts:

 

  • Sudbury is home to Laurentian University, the second bilingual university in Ontario and to Collège Boréal and Cambrian College
  • Sudbury has the world’s largest nickel deposit and large quantities of copper, platinum, gold, silver, cobalt, and sulfur, likely as a result of a meteor strike millions of years ago
  • Sudbury sits on the Trans-Canada Highway connecting Western Canada to Toronto and to Ottawa
  • Sudbury’s major industry is mining, with forestry and government services close behind

newbrand internationla banner

newbrand strongkids banner

banner-ymca-610x100

  • English     *
greatersudburylogo

Le Grand Sudbury est la plus grande ville du Nord de l'Ontario en terme de population, soit aussi la 24e plus grande région métropolitaine du Canada. En superficie, c'est la plus grande ville de l'Ontario ainsi que la seule ville ontarienne qui porte deux noms officiels : City of Greater Sudbury et Ville du Grand Sudbury.

Environ 30 % de la population est francophone. D’ailleurs, Sudbury se trouve à être un noyau central d’histoire culturelle franco-ontarienne et les Franco-Ontariens tiennent leur ville à cœur. En effet, la communauté francophone a joué un rôle essentiel au développement et l’entretien de plusieurs institutions culturelles. Notamment, c’est à Sudbury qu’est né le drapeau franco-ontarien. Il fut déployé pour la première fois à l’Université de Sudbury en 1975, après sa création par un groupe du corps professoral. Depuis 2006, le drapeau franco-ontarien subsiste à la Place Tom Davies et rend honneur à ceux qu’il représente.

À Sudbury, on célèbre également les nations du monde et la diversité culturelle par l’entremise du pont des Nations, aussi connu sous le nom du pont de la rue Paris, où flottent 82 drapeaux de nations souveraines et de groupes culturels.


Faits en bref :

  • ü   À Sudbury on retrouve l’Université Laurentienne, la deuxième université bilingue en Ontario, ainsi que le Collège Boréal et le Collège Cambrian
  • ü   C’est à Sudbury qu’existe le plus grand dépôt de nickel au monde ainsi que d’importantes quantités de cuivre, de platine, d’or, d’argent, de cobalt et de souffre en raison de l’impact d’une météorite il y a plusieurs millions d’années.
  • ü   Sudbury se retrouve sur l’autoroute Transcanadienne qui relie l’Ouest Canadien avec Toronto et Ottawa
  • ü   Sudbury est reconnu premièrement pour son industrie minière et ensuite pour son industrie forestière et ses services gouvernementaux

newbrand internationla banner

newbrand strongkids banner